WBA upholds Usyk v Dubois result, finds no evidence of referee error

The World Boxing Association (WBA) determined that there was “no clear and conclusive evidence” that the referee had erroneously judged a punch in the fifth round as a low hit and upheld Oleksandr Usyk’s victory over Daniel Dubois.

Usyk, the world heavyweight champion, lost the fight in Poland in August’s fifth round after being struck in the shorts band. Usyk was given nearly four minutes to recuperate after the referee determined it to be a low strike.

The Ukrainian won by knockout in the ninth round to keep his WBA, IBF, and WBO titles.

It was a real shot, according to Dubois’ promoter Frank Warren, whose Queensberry Promotions filed an appeal last month to have the about ruled a “No Contest” and to force a rematch.

“The supervisor of the pioneer body, (Jesper) Jensen, determined that referee Luis Pabon made the correct decision regarding the punch, which he considered an accidental low blow,” the World Boxing Association said in a statement on Thursday.

“With the supervisor’s advice, the WBA forwarded the matter to the International Officials Committee, who reviewed it on September 11 and determined insufficient proof to overturn Pabon’s first judgment regarding Dubois’ punch on Usyk.

“They also concluded that no TV footage included proof that the judgment was flawed.

“After studying all the documents … it was determined that the appeal does not proceed and the decision of the fight stands with the victory and defence of the champion Usyk.”

Tyson Fury and Usyk will square off in Saudi Arabia in a unification.

Hey, I'm Emily Logan, a sports writer with a passion for extreme sports. From snowboarding to rock climbing, my adventurous spirit and firsthand experiences in the field bring an adrenaline-fueled perspective to my articles that resonate with thrill-seekers.

Related posts