NHL Hands Out End-of-Season Awards

NHL Hands Out End-of-Season Awards

The NHL handed out it’s most important awards Wednesday night in Las Vegas, including the heavily-debated MVP award. Here’s a list of the finalists and winners:

Ted Lindsay Award: Taylor Hall, New Jersey Devils; Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers; Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche.

Connor McDavid took home the Ted Lindsay award for the most outstanding player in the NHL for the second straight season. He also won the league’s scoring title for the second consecutive season.

James Norris Memorial Trophy: Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings; Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning; P.K. Subban, Nashville Predators.

The James Norris trophy is given to the best defensive player of the season. This year was awarded to Victor Hedman. This is Hedman’s first defensive trophy win in his eight-year career with the Lightning.

King Clancy Trophy: Daniel and Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks; P.K. Subban, Nashville Predators; Jason Zuker, Minnesota Wild.

Twin brothers Daniel and Henrik Sedin won the award for community service and kindness on and off the ice. Henrik Sedin is the first ever two-time King Clancy winner, and the brothers are the first ever co-winners. They officially retired at the end of the 2017-18 season and have spent their entire professional careers together in Vancouver.

Calder Memorial Trophy: Mathew Barzal, New York Islanders; Brock Boeser, Vancouver Canucks; Clayton Keller, Arizona Coyotes.

The Calder award is strictly for first year NHL players. This year, it goes to Mathew Barzal. Barzal lead all rookies in scoring, with 85 points, and scored 20 points more than the next highest rookie. Barzal spent time with the WHL Seattle Thunderbirds and won the WHL championship and WHL Finals MVP before being drafted in the NHL Entry Draft.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers; William Karlsson, Vegas Golden Knights; Ryan O’Reilly, Buffalo Sabres.

William Karlsson from the expansion Golden Knights was awarded the Lady Byng trophy for sportsmanship, after accumulating the fewest penalty minutes among the top-40 league scorers. Karlsson played for the Anaheim Ducks and Columbus Blue Jackets before being drafted in the expansion draft. his award is the first individual award in the Knights’ history.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Brian Boyle, New Jersey Devils; Roberto Luongo, Florida Panthers; Jordan Staal, Carolina Hurricanes.

Brian Boyle took home the award for perseverance and dedication to hockey. Boyle made a triumphant return to hockey just four months after being diagnosed with leukemia during the preseason. Boyle was the obvious choice for the award and gave an inspiring speech after receiving it.

Frank J. Selke Trophy: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins; Sean Couturier, Philadelphia Flyers; Anze Kopitar, Las Angeles Kings.

The Selke trophy is only for forwards that excel in defense and was taken home by Anze Kopitar. Kopitar also won the award in 2014 and won the Calder Memorial Trophy as a rookie in 2007.

Jack Adams Award: Jared Bednar, Colorado Avalanche; Bruce Cassidy, Boston Bruins; Gerard Gallant, Las Vegas Golden Knights.

The Jack Adams Award is given to the NHL coach that is most credited to his team’s success and was given to Gerard Gallant this year. The Knights had an incredible run, reaching the Stanley Cup Finals in their first season.

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award: Deryk Engelland, Las Vegas Golden Knights; Wayne Simmonds, Philadelphia Flyers; Blake Wheeler, Winnipeg jets.

Deryk Engelland took the leadership award home after he lead the Knights far into the postseason in the wake of the deadly shooting. Engelland is a Las Vegas native and was a large part in the team’s tribute to the victims of the recent shooting.

Vezina Trophy: Connor Hellebuyk, Winnipeg Jets; Pekka Rinne, Nashville Predators; Adrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning.

The trophy, solely for goalkeepers, was handed out to Pekka Rinne this season. It was Rinne’s fourth time as a finalist but his first and only win so far.

General Manager of the Year: Kevin Cheveldayoff, Winnipeg Jets; George McPhee, Las Vegas Golden Knights; Steve Yzerman, Tampa Bay Lightning.

George McPhee joined three other award winners from the Golden Knights, showing yet again that the team’s incredible season was well-appreciated. McPhee built the team from the ground up this season and was a large part of their success.

Hart Memorial Trophy: Taylor Hall, New Jersey Devils; Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings; Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche.

Taylor Hall took home the much-debated most valuable player trophy, with 72 first-place votes. Hall scored 41 more points than the Devils second-leading scorer, performing consistently all season.


Featured Image via: Flickr/Tricia Hall

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *